Strawberry, Brie and Chocolate Grilled Cheese

  I’ve been really good with my diet lately.  Despite the fact that I no longer really believe I have gestational diabetes, I’ve been making sure to stick mostly with things that don’t mess with my blood sugar, just in case.  But, it’s Valentine’s Day.  It’s time to get a little indulgent.
  Here’s what you need:
3 strawberries, sliced
1 Tbsp butter
2 slices high-quality sourdough bread
2-3 oz brie cheese, sliced
1-2 oz high-quality dark chocolate
  Believe it or not, we’re gonna make this exactly like a plain-Jane grilled cheese, just throwing some extra ingredients in there.
  The original recipe has you roast the strawberries in the oven before adding them to the sandwich, but I think we all know by now that I’m too lazy for that nonsense and just put my fruit on the sandwich raw.  I’m sure that roasting them adds more depth and sweetness to the sandwich, but, uh, I didn’t have any complaints about mine as it was, so I’m going to stick with the quick and dirty route.
  Heat a skillet over medium heat.  Thickly butter your bread, place it butter side down in the skillet and layer brie, chocolate and strawberries on top.  Cover with a lid and allow to cook for a few moments until the bottom of the bread begins to brown and the cheese and chocolate start to melt.  Top with second (buttered) slice of bread and flip.  Toast for another few moments (covered with the lid) and serve immediately.
  Gah…this was just incredible.  Cheese and chocolate and strawberry juice dripped all over my plate and my hands and I didn’t even care that I was making a huge mess, because I was just in heaven.
  Make this for a loved one, make it for yourself…just make this.  You can thank me later.
Leave a Reply

