Broccoli “Nachos” (Low Carb)

  So remember how last week when I was talking about the paleo granola I’d made I’d said I was a little afraid it was going to be nothing like granola?  This sort of recipe is why.
  Don’t get me wrong…this is a delicious dish, but if somebody handed me this and said “here’s how I make nachos” I’d seriously consider having them committed.  Delicious, yes.  Nachos?  No.
  Here’s what you need:
frozen broccoli florets, thawed
salsa
cheddar, shredded
refried beans (optional)
  If you want specific proportions, feel free to click through the link…we didn’t use them…just emptied the bag of broccoli onto the beans, poured on “enough” salsa and covered it with cheese.  Once your layers are in a baking dish, cook them in an oven preheated to 400 degrees for around 10-15 minutes, until everything gets hot and melty.  Serve warm.
  This is a great way to serve broccoli, but like I said, can we drop the whole “nacho” thing?  Mexican broccoli perhaps?  Adding beans does up the carb count on this slightly, but it also makes it a more substantial dish…which we needed since we were serving it with nothing other than a bowl of soup.
  I’m sure we’ll be cooking this as a side again…it’s full of things we love, but, sorry, when a nacho craving hits in this house we’ll still be breaking out the chips.
Leave a Reply

