Goat Cheese and Mushroom Taquitos

  Today’s recipe is a little bit of a cop out on my part.  It’s actually the same exact recipes as the baked chicken taquitos I posted back in November, but with different filling.  You cook it the same way, so I’m going to just copy and paste the process.
  Forgive me, I’m enjoying my new baby and so I’m haven’t been getting real crazy in the kitchen.  I promise I’ll step it up again soonish.
  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
Goat cheese
1 medium red bell pepper, chopped
~8 oz baby bella mushrooms, sliced
avocado, diced
spinach
corn tortillas
 Start by pre-heating a bit of oil in a skillet and cooking your pepper and mushrooms.  Cook until softened.  Dump the pieces into a large bowl with your cheese, avocado and spinach.  Mix everything together until it is completely combined.
  Grease a cookie sheet with a bit of olive oil and begin rolling your taquitos.  If like me, you accidentally bought corn tortillas instead of flour, do your best to stifle your swearing in front of any small children you may have when they break into a billion pieces when you roll them.  We’ll come back and address that problem in a minute.  If you managed to come home with flour tortillas, spoon 3 Tbsp of your chicken mushroom mixture into the center, roll them up, brush them with a bit of oil and place them (seam side down) on the cookie sheet.
  Alright, fellow oblivious tortilla shoppers, all hope is not lost*.  My Mr. found that dipping the corn tortillas in water and then heating them in a hot cast iron skillet for about 30 seconds on each side made them nice and pliable so they could be wrapped around the filling without breaking.**
  Once your taquitos are wrapped and placed on the cookie sheet, cook them in a 425 degree oven for about 10 minutes.
* I actually think corn tortillas are better suited to this recipe.
  These are an utterly delicious vegetarian take on this recipe.  Like I said, I know, I’m a punk for phoning it in, but I think you’ll forgive me if you actually try this out.
  We should be back to new, for-realsie recipes next week.  Stick with me folks.
Leave a Reply

