Gorgonzola, Walnut and Cranberry Chicken

  So remember how in the post about the mushroom stuffed chicken with sage gravy I said I wasn’t going to be stuffing chicken again?  I meant it.
  This was supposed to be a stuffed chicken recipe.  It sounded so good I just had to try it, but I was not doing that whole “stuffing” nonsense again.  So I, uhm, slightly modified the recipe.
  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
4 chicken breast halves
1 c crumbled Gorgonzola
1/2 c dried cranberries
1/3 c chopped walnuts
2/3 c Italian bread crumbs
1 egg
1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
  Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees.
  In a casserole dish (with lid), cover your chicken breasts with your bread crumbs, egg and mustard, turning and mixing to coat them completely.  Spread gorgonzola cheese, walnuts and cranberries on top.
  Cover your dish with your lid and cook for 40-45 minutes, checking chicken with a meat thermometer to ensure you’ve reached 165 degrees.
  This turned out really, really well.  The Mr. even remarked on how tender the chicken was (I’m always pleased with myself when what I’ve made turns out extraordinarily enough to impress “the cook” in the house) and it couldn’t have been easier.  Way better than all the fuss that would have been involved in flattening it all out and rolling it up and what not.
  Leaving the lid on while cooking makes the breading stay soft and not crisp up, but I kind of like it a bit goopy.  If you want it more crunchy, try baking with the lid off, but keep in mind that with all that cheese, there’s only so much crispiness you can get.  The only change I’d make when I make this again is to line the dish with some tinfoil before cooking.  My casserole pan wound up with a pretty nasty baked on crust of breading goo that proved a pain to scrub off.  Other than that, a total win!  
Leave a Reply

