Button Necklace, inspired by alex and chloe

  Pinterest is such a wonderful treasure trove of inspiration for me.  I get exposed to all sorts of designers, brands and ideas that I never would have come across on my own.

  Alex and Chloe is one of those brands.  When I saw the picture above on Pinterest I fell in love.  As a seamstress, I have a bit of a weakness for buttons, but unfortunately, while the Alex and Chloe versions are fabulous, to say that their starting price of $100 is a bit out of my comfort range would be rather understating things.
  Luckily, this idea is perfectly DIY-able, and I already had all the supplies on hand.
  The main challenge of making this work is finding a combination of chain and button that fit together.  You need either a really fine chain, or a button with a rather large hole.  I busted out my collection of chains and antique buttons and split the difference so I didn’t need to buy anything.  Somewhat delicate chain and a shell button that had a slightly larger than average hole.  Once the button was threaded onto the chain, I attached my closures, hung it ’round my neck and pretty much haven’t taken it off since.
  Soooo, I know I’m supposed to be working on smiling more in pictures, but the boys were giving me hell all morning when I took these, so I was in more of a “scowl at the camera” kind of mood.   Besides, a smile would have totally ruined the “Girl with the Pearl Button Necklace”, historical-drama novel look going on in the close up shot anyhow.
  This is such a quick and easy craft to throw together, with such great results!  Break out your own button collection and find a pretty one to wear.
  By the way, speaking of easy projects, the top I have on is one of the altered maternity tops I told you about a month or so ago!
Leave a Reply

