Baked Dijon and Lime Chicken

  Yes, *sigh*, dijon again.  What did I tell you?  Predictable.

  Oh well.  I know what I like!
  Here’s what you need:
1 lb boneless chicken breast
½ c lime juice
½ c fresh cilantro, chopped
¼ c dijon mustard
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp chili powder
½ tsp kosher/sea salt
½ tsp pepper
  This is a prep-ahead and then throw-in-the-oven-later kind of meal.  Great for nights you know you’re not going to have the time/patience for hands-on cooking close to mealtime.
  Throw all of your ingredients except for the chicken in a food processor and pulse to combine.  
  Place your chicken breasts in a baking dish and pour the sauce over top.  Cover it with saran wrap (or tin foil, or whatever) and place in the fridge for a minimum of 15 minutes or up to 6 hours.  I did pretty close to 6 hours myself.
  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees, remove covering from dish and bake.  The original recipe claims you can get your chicken up to temp in 18-20 minutes (but to check with a meat thermometer to make sure you reach 165 degrees).  It took me closer to 40 minutes.  I’ve had this issue with several baked chicken breast recipes, so I’m not sure if this is a high altitude vs low altitude thing or if I just have a belligerent oven that doesn’t feel like cooking chicken breasts quickly.  Keep an eye on your chicken and figure out what time span works best for you.
  Once your chicken is cooked through, slice and serve warm with extra sauce.
  This was really good.  It probably had something to do with the fact that I just barely got it up to 165 degrees, but the chicken was incredibly tender and juicy, and the flavors were just wonderful.  Plus, even if I hadn’t prepped it earlier that day, getting this ready was insanely easy.
  Pretty much everything in this recipe is stuff we always have on hand.  Fresh cilantro is going to be the only sticking point, and I think I may plant some in my herb patch this year just so I can make this dish on a whim.
Leave a Reply

