Dill Pickle Soup

  Don’t get any ideas…I’m not pregnant again…I just love pickles.  When I saw the recipe for this soup, I thought it might be similar to a pickle soup I’d had (and loved) at a local Austrian restaurant, but that was a broth based soup, where this is thick and creamy.
  Here’s what you need:
5 1/2 c chicken broth
1 3/4 lbs russet potatoes, peeled and quartered
2 c carrots, chopped 
1 c dill pickles, chopped (about 3 large whole pickles)
1/2 c unsalted butter
1 c all-purpose flour
1 c sour cream
1/4 c water
2 c dill pickle juice*
1-1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning**
1/2 tsp salt*
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
*The original recipe comments on it, and I want to reiterate…not all pickle juices are the same.  Taste before you add more salt.
**I didn’t have Old Bay seasoning, I ground up some bay leaves and called it good.  I’m a heathen.  Whatever.
  Place your broth, potatoes, carrots and butter into a large pot.  Bring it to a boil and cook until the potatoes get tender (about 10 minutes). Add your pickles and continue to simmer.
  Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, stir together your flour, sour cream and water.  This forms something that looks a bit like dough. Whisk this sour cream mixture (2 Tbsp at a time) into your soup.  Keep whisking and boiling until everything is nicely combined.  This process is going to mash up some of your potatoes, you want that!  Now add your pickle juice, Old Bay, salt, pepper and cayenne. Cook for 5 more minutes and then remove from heat. Serve immediately.
  I’ve found that I’m a sucker for tart potato soups, (dijon potato soup anybody?) and this one is no exception.  I was a little afraid that it was going to be too light to be a stand alone dinner, but between the potatoes and all the fat in it, it’s really filling.  The Mr. liked this, but found it to be a touch too tart for his taste without some bread for dipping, so he had his with some leftover homemade flatbread.  G didn’t even want to try it, which I find hysterical since he’s such a huge fan of pickles.  Ah well.  No reasoning with 3 year olds.  Maybe I’ll get him to taste a bite next time we have it!
Leave a Reply

