Free Sewing Patterns from Craftsy

  This week seems to be heavy on posts that reference things I already talked about back before I had a clue what I was doing with my camera and before most of you were reading this blog…today we’re doing it again.  Back in November of ’11 I told you guys about some of my favorite free patterns from BurdaStyle and FreeNeedle.  I just found a new source.

  Now, for full disclosure, I’ll admit, Craftsy contacted me to let me know about these patterns.  I haven’t entirely made up my mind how I even feel about the idea of doing sponsored posts…I certainly don’t want to be shilling things to you guys that I don’t love, but a good chunk of their patterns are free…and they’ve recently reorganized things so that you can see all of the free patterns in one place.  Free stuff that’s awesome?  That I’ll definitely share.
  You can find the free patterns for clothing here, but don’t just stop there!  There are free patterns in pretty much all of the categories.  Toys has a ton of free patterns for doll clothing, felt food and softies for instance.
  So far my favorites are this grey hoodie for me:
My legs will look like that when I put it on, right?
  This robot bib for R:
  And this sweet little jacket:
It’s technically intended for girls, but I don’t see any reason it couldn’t be darling for G
  As well as the free patterns, there are also a crazy number of downloadable patterns on there for $3 or less (and some for more, but I haven’t browsed many of those yet).  Once you factor in the ink you’ve got to use to print the pattern out they aren’t quite the deal that the dollar-a-pattern sales are, but you can’t beat the instant gratification factor and I’ve already got my eye on a couple of them for my inevitable late night “I want to sew and don’t want to make any of the patterns I own” sessions.
  Folks who are new to sewing…this post comes with a caveat: downloadable patterns aren’t always the easiest since a lot of them come with limited or no construction instructions.  That being said, if you’ve got some cheap fabric you don’t mind messing around with, why not give it a try?
  Happy downloading everybody!
Leave a Reply

