You Won’t Believe What This Top Was

  I’ve been branching out in my workouts lately.  I’ve been doing zumba since the summer after G was born, and while I still love it, I wanted to find something else to add into my routine.  If you follow me on Twitter or Facebook, you know I’ve started doing aerial silks.
  One of the things with aerial silks is that you need to protect your armpits and the backs of your knees while you do it if you don’t want to wind up with fabric burns.  Pretty much all of my workout tops are sleeveless, and workout gear is EXPENSIVE!   Rather than going out and buying new stuff, I made this:
  Can you guess what that black top used to be?
  How about if I tell you it took me less than 5 minutes to modify it into this?
  No?  What about if I tell you that I’m wearing it on the wrong half of my body in this picture?
  That’s a pair of tights.  All I did was snip the feet off and cut the diamond shaped portion out of the crotch to make a neckline.
  I came across the idea a good year or two ago when I was browsing some runway show pictures.  The designer had done the same thing with nylons, purposely stretching them til they ran to create ladders through the fabric, and the idea stuck with me.
  I was cleaning out my closet and realized I had tights I wasn’t wearing…soooo…. a couple quick snips and my new shirt was ready!
  I’m really happy with how this turned out.  It was quick, easy, and, because I already had the tights, free.  It’ll keep my armpits from getting destroyed by the fabric, and even better, it looks cute.  This is an incredibly simple project, but if you have any questions about how I did it, please don’t hesitate to ask!
Leave a Reply

