Calvin and Hobbes- My Sweet Little Boys’ Halloween

  Alright, so first things first, I’m going to warn you, I’m a failure as a blogger and mother when it comes to photos this Halloween.  Between the rain, the preschooler’s aversion to even slightly-damp clothing, the boys napping in shifts and my just being lazy, I didn’t get a single picture of the boys together.  I also only got pictures with my phone.
  Boo, hiss, I suck…whatever.  I’m over it.  Lets get on to the cute pictures already.

  Isn’t R just the cutest Calvin you’ve ever seen?  …probably because he’s not old enough to get into any of the trouble that comic-book-Calvin is always giving his parents…
  I was shocked by the utter impossibility of finding a plain red shirt for him.  Apparently kids aren’t allowed to have clothing without pictures on it?  I wound up buying 2T-3T white undershirts and tossing one in a bath of Rit dye.  I used cherry red.  Be warned, cherry red is suspiciously close to fushia pink.  After I finished dyeing it, I used a sharpie to draw the imperfect, sketched on, comic book black lines.

  And here is our Hobbes, finally cooperating with having a picture taken…and, of course, his absolutely necessary tail.
  I’ve already walked you through how I made the pants and sweater…the tail is just a long, skinny rectangle that I stuffed, sewed shut and stitched onto an elastic belt.
  I’m desperately hoping that he decides to wear the pieces of this as part of his everyday wardrobe.  I spent a stupid amount of time on this costume otherwise.  I was a little annoyed when I started that I wasn’t going to be able to make the pieces match, but honestly, I sort of love it now that it’s done.  I think it makes it more playful.  3 year olds, even 3 year old tigers, oughtn’t need to match.
  Finally, because Halloween is my favorite holiday and I can’t stand to be left out of the dress-up fun, I threw together this costume at the literal last minute:

  The rain just kept coming down and didn’t show any signs of letting up, so I racked my brain for costumes that integrated an umbrella.  Mary Poppins was the obvious choice!
  I hope all of you enjoyed your Halloweens as much as we enjoyed ours!
Leave a Reply

