Full Length Faux Wrap Dress in Knit

  So who out there wants to feel like they’re still in their jammies while looking like they’re about to go to a black tie awards banquet?
  Yeah, me too.  Enter this dress.

  Please ignore the somewhat wonky hem…it’s far too long (I have on my tallest platform heels under there) and needs to be adjusted badly.
  I drafted this pattern years ago based off a cheapy knit dress I got from Walmart of all places back when my Mr. and I lived in the middle of nowhere.  I got compliments every single time I wore the dress and it couldn’t have been more comfortable, so obviously I needed more!
  The original dress has 3/4 length sleeves and is mid-calf length.  It’s an awesome day-to-day dress and I think I’ve made 3 or 4 for myself and probably just as many for other people.  That being said, it never occurred to me to make it full length until I stumbled across this pin.  There it was!  My favorite old dress turned into a fancy gown!
  I love the navy, but I’m trying really, really hard to pare my stash down, so I pulled out a shimmery light blue knit I’d set aside and started cutting.
  Despite the end result being so fabulous, this is a stupidly easy piece to put together.  If you can sew a straight line, you can sew this dress.  I used my serger and my sewing machine for this version, but you can definitely do it with either one independently and get a very similar result.
  Now, if you like this dress, you’ll be excited to know, I recently found out how to make PDF patterns (if you follow me on Twitter you already know that).  I have some researching to do to figure out how to do multiple sizes and what not, but I think I’m going to try and upload this (and the shorter, more daily version) as my first pattern once I get it all figured out.
  What do you guys think?  If I put the work into it, would you drop a couple of bucks to make this dress?
Leave a Reply

