Cheese Stuffed Meatballs

  Oh Pinterest, you devourer of souls free-time… what would I do without you?
  I was browsing pins, probably far too late at night, and came across the idea for meatballs stuffed with cheese.  The link didn’t go anywhere, but the idea stuck.  Luckily, I have my mom’s meatball recipe and was able to improvise.

1 lb ground beef
1/2 c bread crumbs
1 clove garlic, minced
1 Tbsp parsley, minced
1 Tbsp basil, crumbled
1 egg, beaten
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
mozzarella cheese, cut into chunks*
  Combine all of your ingredients except for the oil and cheese into a large bowl and mix thoroughly.
  Heat your oil in a large skillet.  While it warms, shape your meat mixture into ball shape, poking a hole with your finger to place the mozzarella inside and then closing the meat around it.
  Place your meatballs into the oil, turning them to brown them lightly on all sides.
  These were pretty dang good, BUT, a big word of warning…I thought I’d be clever and cut up cheese sticks to do this, since they’d be easy to get to a good size.  Turns out, *cheese sticks don’t really melt.  I wouldn’t say this made them any less delicious, but I didn’t get the ooey gooey cheese centers I was hoping for.  I think next time I may shred mozzarella right into the mix instead of trying for the center.  These went over without a hitch with the little food critic and I expect will be being made again soon!
Leave a Reply

