Batman Pajama Set

Not sure what is in the air lately (other than the obvious answer of “lots of pollen”) but I’ve been cranking projects out left and right the past few weeks.

Hot weather showed up here in Michigan out of the blue, as it tends to do, and it became quickly apparent that G didn’t have any warm weather pjs.  He jammed his now 4 year old body into his old, knit cotton pjs, but, as hilarious as the results were, they didn’t look terribly comfortable.

The next time I was at the fabric store, I was browsing the remnants baskets and found a roll of printed Batman cotton.  G is really more into Ironman and Spiderman at this point, but in his current mindset, any superhero is a good superhero, so I snapped it up and made these:

  First off, if you’re looking at that tshirt and thinking “wow, that looks grungy”, that’s because it is.  I hadn’t really intended to make a matching top to go with the shorts, but in the process of pulling outgrown clothing out of G’s drawers, I happened upon a beat up, ignored, plain white tshirt, and decided that it’d see more love if it had some Batman slapped on it.
  For the shorts, I went back to the pillowcase sleep short pattern that I’d drafted last summer.  To add the panel to the shirt, I cut a square, ironed the unfinished edges to the back and ran a single line of stitching as close to the edge as I possibly could.  It turned out surprisingly well.
  G lovvvves them and I keep having to remind him that, while he can wear them a couple nights in a row if he puts them under his pillow in the morning, they’re pajamas, not out in public clothes.
  As successful as this was, I’m absolutely going to be keeping an eye out for other themed fabric that I can use to update t-shirts for him!

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

